Homeschooling is growing in popularity in Atlanta and throughout Georgia. Legal guidelines for homeschoolers vary by state. Here are the state requirements for homeschooling in Georgia.
1. Compulsory Attendance
All Georgia children from ages 6-16 must attend school or be homeschooled. The cut-off date for age is September 1st.
2. Parent/Guardian Requirements
Parents who homeschool must have a high school diploma or a GED. Tutors hired by parents must have the same credentials.
3. Declaration of Intent
Within 30 days of starting homeschooling, and by September 1st each school year, parents must file a Declaration of Intent with their local school system. You can find this form on your county's school website.
Homeschooled students must complete the equivalent of 180 days of school each year and 4.5 hours of school per day. Parents must report attendance at the end of each month to their local school superintendent. Forms are available on your school district's website, and in some counties you can report attendance online.
Specific curriculum choices are up to parents, but the law states that lessons must cover reading, language arts, math, social studies, and science. School districts cannot monitor homeschoolers' curricula, and they are not required to provide books and lessons to homeschooled students.
Homeschoolers in Georgia are not required to participate in the CRCT. However, every third year (3rd, 6th, 9th, and 12th grades) they must take a nationally-recognized assessment and retain the records for three years. Examples of acceptable tests include the Stanford Achievement Test or the Iowa Test of Basic Skills.
7. Report Cards
Homeschooling parents do not have to issue formal report cards, but they must write a yearly progress report in each of the five required subject areas (reading, language arts, math, social studies, and science) and retain that assessment for three years.